Before jumping into an airplane and getting to Cambodia you should prepare your journey. Find below all important travel information’s helping you to avoid unpleasant surprises.

In a word

Cambodia is one of the last rarely discovered countries in South East Asia. In the past the people of Cambodia had to suffer long years under the consequences of the terror regime of the Khmer-rouge and the civil war. Nowadays the country is free of wars and holds an enhancing economy. Especially the tourism sector is increasing fast and offers various job opportunities for the local society. Experienced travellers say that “Cambodia is like Thailand twenty years ago”, with lonesome islands, lost temples and rarely discovered regions and hill tribes.

Quick facts

Official name: Kingdom of Cambodia

Area: 181,035 km2 (59% covered by forest)

Provinces: 24

Capital: Phnom Penh

Islands: 30 (around Sinahoukville and Kep)

Climate: Tropical dry and wet

Population: 14,805,358 (more than 50% are less than 21years old)

Language: Khmer

Religion: Theravada Buddhism

Government: Constitutional democracy

King: Norodom Sihamoni

Prime minister: Hun Sen

Population and culture

The Cambodian culture can be generally described as conservative and traditional. Even so, there is a cultural change forming in the bigger cities where life is different and western influences are wide spread. Nowadays the majority of Khmer are Theravada Buddhist and this religion has a marked effect on their etiquette, customs and culture. Most travellers are impressed by the warmth and kindness of the local people. But not all tourists have the chance to discover this friendliness, caused by cultural barriers and their unknown misbehavior. To avoid these complications it is important to know a few Dos and Don’ts for Cambodia.
Nevertheless Cambodians understand that visitors come from another culture and will be indulgent about minor cultural faux pas. They will just appreciate every effort to understand their traditions and society and award these endeavors with a positive difference in the interaction.

Practices and customs

To do
  • The traditional greeting, it is a little bow with the hands clasped together like in prayer.
  • Remove your shoes before entering a temple or someone’s house.
  • Try to make some indirect eye Contact from time to time. Staring can be interpreted as impolite.
  • Ask for permission before taking photographs of people or monks.
  • Keep business cards ready, and present them with both hands. Accept business cards with both hands.
Not to do
  • A big no-go is to touch anyone on top of the head, because the head is holy.
  • It is impolite to point your feet at anyone included a Buddha statue.
  • In temples men should wear long pants and women tops covering their shoulders.
  • Avoid handing anything with your left hand.
  • To pass things politely, touch your left hand to your right elbow and pass the object with your right hand.
  • Don't begin eating if you are a guest at a dinner and the host has yet to take a bite.
  • Women should never touch male monks or hand something directly to them.

Time Zone

Cambodia is within the Indochina Time (ICT). These time zone various from the Universal Coordinated Time (UTC) about +7 hours and the European Summertime GMT about + 6 hours.

Climate

The climate of Cambodia is officially divided in two main seasons. The Cambodians itself add a third season, the “cold season” between December and January.



Precautions and Health

It is recommended that all visitors be inoculated against typhoid, tetanus, and hepatitis A and B. Precautions against malaria are not necessary for the main travelling destinations, but are recommended when visiting remoter provinces. Travellers should generally visit their doctor or travel center in their home country, for an individual consulting, before leaving for Cambodia.





Water

The Water quality of the tap water various extremely depending on the region. It is advisable to generally not to drink tap water and buy some of the bottle water, which is everywhere available for less than one dollar.

Electricity

The country has a 220 volts electricity system and it is likely to find generators in places with occasional support problems. Most sockets are French style two-pin and connective to European plugs.

Money

Cambodia’s currency is the Cambodian Riel (KHR), but there is usually no need to change money into KHR, since you will inevitably pay a lot of things in USD and receive change in KHR (1USD = 4000KHR). Most hotels accept international credit cards such as Visa and MasterCard and travellers checks can be easily cashed.

Airports

Travellers can enter the country by plane on two international gateways, the Phnom Penh International Airport and the Siem Reap International Airport, which is close to the temples of Angkor. A third airport in Sinahoukville is going to reopen in a few years and will serve as a portal to Cambodia’s coastline.

Passports & Visas

There are two main possibilities for receiving a visa in Cambodia. One-month tourist visas are available upon arrival at Cambodia’s airports as well as at the border checkpoints (costs around US$30 and requiring one passport-sized photo). The other opportunity is getting it from the Cambodian Embassy in a foreign country.

Go To Top

Nous vous aidons à préparer votre voyage au Cambodge

En quelques mots

Le Cambodge est l’un des derniers pays encore à découvrir en Asie du Sud-Est. Par le passé, le people cambodgien a subi pendant de longues années le terrible régime des Khmers Rouges et la guerre civil. Désormais, le pays est exempt de guerres et son économie est en croissance. Principalement le secteur du tourisme qui est en pleine expansion et offre de nombreuses opportunités d’emplois pour les habitants. Les voyageurs de longue date affirment que “le Cambodge est comme la Thaïlande d’il y a vingt ans” avec des iles solitaires, des temples perdus, des régions encore à découvrir et des tribus ethniques.

Fiche du pays

Nom officiel: Royaume du Cambodge

Superficie: 181 035 km2 (dont 59% de forêt)

Provinces: 24

Capitale: Phnom Penh

Iles: 30 (autour de Sihanoukville et Kep)

Climat: Tropical (une saison sèche, une saison humide)

Population: 14 805 358 d’habitants (plus de 50% ont moins de 21 ans)

Langue: Khmer

Religion: Bouddhisme Theravada

Gouvernement: Démocratie constitutionnelle

Roi: Norodom Sihamoni

Premier Ministre: Hun Sen

Population et Culture

Le Cambodge est généralement décrit comme un pays conservateur et traditionnaliste. Cependant, il y a un changement culturel qui s’opère dans les plus grandes villes ou le mode de vie est différent et les influences occidentales sont largement répandues. Aujourd’hui, la majorité des Khmers sont des bouddhistes Theravada. Cette religion a un impact réel sur leur façon de vivre. La plupart des voyageurs sont fascinés par la chaleur et la gentillesse du peuple cambodgien. Mais pas tous les touristes ont la chance de se rendre compte de cette convivialité, à cause des barrières culturelles et de leurs mauvaises conduites. Pour éviter ce genre de malentendus, il est important de prendre connaissance des choses à faire et à ne pas faire au Cambodge.
Cependant, les Cambodgiens comprennent que les voyageurs ont une culture différente de la leur et seront indulgents s’il y a un petit faux pas de la part du touriste. Ils apprécieront juste chaque effort produit par le visiteur pour comprendre leurs traditions, leur société et n’hésiteront pas à s’ouvrir à l’échange en tenant compte de cette différence culturelle.

US et Coutumes

A faire
  • Le salut traditionnel, avec les mains jointes comme dans une prière.
  • Enlever ses chaussures avant d’entrer dans un temple ou chez une personne.
  • Essayer de ne pas les regarder dans les yeux pendant trop longtemps. Cela peut être traduit comme une impolitesse.
  • Demander la permission avant de prendre des photos des habitants ou des moines.
  • Garder sur soi des cartes de visite, et leur présenter avec les deux mains. Accepter les cartes de visite avec les deux mains.
A ne pas faire
  • Il est défendu de toucher quelqu’un sur le haut de la tête, car la tête est sainte.
  • Il est impoli de pointer quelqu’un avec les pieds, même une statue de Bouddha.
  • Dans les temples, les hommes doivent porter de longs pantalons et les femmes doivent couvrir leurs épaules.
  • Eviter de jurer quelque chose avec la main gauche.
  • Pour transmettre un objet poliment, toucher le coude droit avec la main gauche et donner l’objet avec la main droite.
  • Ne pas commencer à manger si l’on est invité à un diner et que l’hôte n’a pas encore pris une bouchée.
  • Les femmes ne doivent pas toucher les moines ou leur jurer quelque chose.

Avant de monter dans votre avion et de rejoindre ce pays fantastique, il est nécessaire de bien préparer son voyage.

Fuseau horaire

Le Cambodge fait partie du fuseau horaire de l’Indochine (ICT). Il faut rajouter 7 heures à partir du Méridien Universel et 6 heures à partir de l’heure d’été en Europe (GMT+ 6 heures).

Climat

Le climat du Cambodge est séparé en deux saisons. Les Cambodgiens considèrent eux-mêmes qu’il y a une troisième saison, la “saison froide” entre décembre et janvier.



Précautions et santé

Il est fortement conseillé aux touristes d’être vacciné contre la typhoïde, le tétanos, les hépatites A et B. Les mesures contre le paludisme ne sont pas nécessaires pour les principales destinations touristiques, mais recommandées dans les provinces reculées. Il est préférable de consulter son médecin traitant avant de partir pour le Cambodge.





Eau

La qualité de l’eau du robinet varie énormément selon la région. Il est conseillé de manière générale de ne pas boire l’eau du robinet et d’acheter des bouteilles d’eau, que vous trouverez partout à moins d’un dollar.

Eléctricité

Le pays a un système électrique de 220 volts et il est facile de trouver des groupes électrogènes en cas de besoin. La plupart des prises sont de style français à deux broches et compatibles avec les prises européennes.

Monnaie

La monnaie officielle cambodgienne est le Riel Cambodgien (KHR), mais il n’y a pas besoin de changer sa monnaie en KHR, car vous effectuerez beaucoup de vos paiements en USD et recevrez le change en KHR (1USD=4000KHR). Beaucoup d’hôtels acceptent les cartes de crédit internationales telles que Visa et Mastercard et les chèques-voyages peuvent être facilement encaissés.

Aéroport

Les voyageurs peuvent entrer sur le territoire cambodgien par avion, soit a l’aéroport international de Phnom Penh, soit à l’aéroport international de Siem Reap, qui se situe près des temples d’Angkor. Un troisième aéroport a Sihanoukville va rouvrir dans quelques années et desservira le littoral cambodgien.

Passeports & Visas

Il y a deux options pour obtenir le visa cambodgien. Le visa tourisme, valable un mois, est disponible a votre arrivée a l’aéroport et dans les points de passage aux frontières (il coute environ US$30; ne pas oublier une photo d’identité). L’autre solution est de l’obtenir au sein d’une ambassade cambodgienne dans un pays étranger.

Go To Top